Sign In Forgot Password

Staff and Board

Amy Mallor, Executive Director

After a months-long nationwide search for the right person to guide Or Shalom toward a stronger future financially and administratively, the Board of Directors is excited to introduce Amy Mallor, our new Executive Director!
Most recently, Amy has been in the role of Executive Director for synagogues in Baltimore, MD, and Glencoe, IL. But Amy is very familiar with the San Francisco and Bay Area Jewish landscape, having previously served as Executive Director with San Francisco’s Congregation Sherith Israel and with Congregation Peninsula Temple Sholom in Burlingame.
When not working, Amy enjoys walking her cockapoo, Mango, being in nature and at the beach, playing golf and pickleball, and reading non-fiction books. She is also learning how to play bridge, so if any Or Shalom folks are bridge players, you may have found a fourth.
On behalf of the Board of Directors and the entire Or Shalom community, welcome back to San Francisco and to Or Shalom, Amy! We look forward to working, praying, and socializing with you in the months and years to come.


Interim Administrative Coordinator - Emily Rosenberg

Emily is a 3rd generation Chicagoan, who moved to San Francisco 25 years ago. Her
Jewish identity was formed at summer camp in Wisconsin and at seders, Shabbat dinners, and sukkah building at home. Her political awakening vis a vis Israel came while living and working in a Jewish-Palestinian village (Neve Shalom/Wahat al Salaam) during the First Intifada. Emily's work experience has been broad, including as a peace educator with the American Friends Service Committee, leading delegations to Israel and Palestine and
facilitating workshops on alternatives to violence for youth; as a peacekeeper in Sri Lanka with Nonviolent Peaceforce; as a grantmaker with the San Francisco Foundation; and, currently, as a global health researcher and lecturer. Emily is an athlete, tree hugger, bread baker, photographer, and dog whisperer. 

Board of Directors

The Board meets monthly to make the decisions that guide our community. The Executive Committee is comprised of the President, Vice President, Immediate Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer. To place an item on the Board's agenda, contact a member of the Executive Committee.

FY21, July 1, 2021– June 30, 2022


Officers (Executive Committee)

Matt Rudoff, President

Meryl Bennan, Vice-President   

Shelley Levine, Secretary

James Bennan, Treasurer 

Chana Jacobs, Immediate Past President



Liz Isaacs, Membership Committee Chair

Stacey Leyton, Personnel Committee Chair

Rachelle Resnick, Chesed Committee Chair

Joel Rubinstein, Minhag Committee Representative

Joshua Babcock, Religious School Committee Chair

Madeleine Levin, Tikkun Olam Committee Chair 

Angelique von Halle, Member At Large

Max Bernstein, Member At Large

Paul Axelrod, Member At Large

Ross Matican, Member At Large

Staff Attending Board Meetings

Rabbi Katie Mizrahi

Wed, May 18 2022 17 Iyyar 5782